Words on Wednesday

Words on Wednesday is going to be all about a part of the writing process as I do it, so look out for posts on drafting, revisions, and things in between and things that cover all of those things.

Today I’m going to talk about setting. Setting is something that should definitely never be taken for granted. The right setting can add to the plot and affect characters just as much as show the world.

One of my favourite book settings is Hogwarts, from Harry Potter. 

1

What I love about Hogwarts is how big a role it plays in the books. From the moment Harry – and the readers – see it, it plays a role in the character development and plots over seven books.

When creating a setting, think about these things:

  • What secrets are there?
  • What role will it play?
  • Is the history important? How? Why?
  • How do characters feel about the setting? Why?

How do you create a setting?

 

One thought on “Words on Wednesday

  1. frenchc1955 says:

    Creating a setting is an interesting writing problem. In the novel I am currently revising for an 8th draft, after seeing the main characters, I realized they were in a town similar to those I have lived in at various times in my life. I then formed an amalgam of these places, which I hope works in the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

