Words on Wednesday

Words on Wednesday is going to be all about a part of the writing process as I do it, so look out for posts on drafting, revisions, and things in between and things that cover all of those things.

Today I’m going to talk about how I prepared for Stupid Cupid – the current romance version.

First I started off with the character profiles, including character arcs for Nicky and Sienna. Because characters are so important and because romance is such a character driven genre, it was really hard. I spent a lot of time feeling like this:

15

9

Then I worked on the beat sheet. Beats are so important because they give a book structure. While it was hard coming up with beats, it was definitely easier than coming up with character arcs that actually made sense.

And then it got to the actual OUTLINING part. This involves coloured index cards and coloured pens all over the place.

21

I love me some colour. Anyway, it took a very long time, but I now have a very colourful outline and I’m ready for NaNoWriMo and VERY EXCITED.

excited-anna

Is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo this year?

Leave a Reply

