Words on Wednesday

Today’s post is about setting things aside. 

I realised the other day that I can’t work on Storybook Endings anymore until I get to the query stage on something, despite how much I love it. Why? Because the amount of time I spend working on it, getting more and more frustrated with rewrites, I could be working on something else that could get me the agent I want. So I’m working on something else that I will talk about next week. 

It breaks my heart but it also feels less restrictive because it feels as though I can go with the flow. I’ve also learnt that when I first start working on a project I need to work out what it is I want as soon as possible so I don’t spend a ridiculous amount of time rewriting and getting frustrated that I’m not getting closer and closer to the querying stage. 

FYI, this does not mean that I’m never going to go back to Storybook Endings. It just won’t be any time soon. 

Has anyone else ever put a project aside? How did it make you feel? 

Leave a Reply

